Page 1 of 1

Check for mobs in range?

Posted: 16 Jul 2018, 20:34
by Athravan
Hi there,

Loving the addon so far - looking to write my own rotations.

Is there a way to count the number of mobs in range to then use AOE spells? In both melee and at range?

Thanks
Ath

Re: Check for mobs in range?

Posted: 17 Jul 2018, 04:27
by Kaminaris
No, only pet classes has this ability. You can check how many targets are within your spell ability

Re: Check for mobs in range?

Posted: 27 Sep 2018, 04:45
by Gekopt
I have the same issue.
I'm writing a rotation for fury warriors and i want to know the mobs that are within my whirlwind range, so i can determine to use whirlwind or not (single vs multi)

I'm using the following

local mobcount = MaxDps:TargetsInRange(_Whirlwind);
print (mobcount);

But the mobcount is always 0
I would've at least expected 1 when i'm hitting a target :)

Re: Check for mobs in range?

Posted: 27 Sep 2018, 11:21
by Kaminaris
You cannot check how many mobs are within aoe ability, never.
BUT you can check how many mobs are within single target melee ability or some other short range single target ability. This works for melee classes well.

Re: Check for mobs in range?

Posted: 11 Dec 2018, 06:31
by Gekopt
hey,

Somehow i'm still not getting this right apparently (although i thought it worked before)
To get the count i've tried the targetsinrange of a single target melee spell. and that smartaoe function you provide
but this always results in a count of 0.
local abilities = 
{
	bloodthirst = 23881
};

	local mobcount = MaxDps:TargetsInRange(abilities.bloodthirst);
	local targets = MaxDps:SmartAoe();
	print(targets);
	print (mobcount);
Am i missing something here?


Update: Got it , it was because nameplates were turned OFF

Gr GeKopt